It has been a while since I last updated my blog.  I haven’t done any running.  I have barely managed time to walk.  It’s crazy since starting law school.

I work basically full time.  I started a second job which has brought me closer to a full time status.  I wasn’t looking to take a second a job, it kind of found me and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity.

I began volunteering at a Victim Offender Mediation Program for Juvenile first time offenders.  Many of these kids come from inner city, lower income homes and are trying to find their way.  For a first time offense its a beneficial program to help them not get caught up in a system that might be otherwise hard to get out of and start with a clean slate.  We have them write a resume.  What do you plan for your future?  Many of these kids haven’t thought much about it, or have a detailed description of what they want to do.  Either way, it helps for them to think about the steps they need to take to get there.  What does it look like?  How is getting into trouble with the law get in the way of that vision?  They do some community service hours and write an apology letter, and the parent needs to be involved as well.  I was then offered a paid position to continue, and I agreed.

I am almost done with my first year of law school. I am exhausted.  Because Torts and Contracts are both year long classes we have a mid-term coming up in December.  I have been studying Contracts every chance I get.  I spend 8 hours at school on Saturdays working with a study group and tutors to glean any information I can or any opportunity offered.  There are so many moving parts in Contracts that it can be overwhelming learning the concepts.  I feel like I am going to fine.  I am putting the work in.  Torts on the other hand… it seems much easier, but I need to realize I can’t assume that it will be.  I haven’t been giving it the same amount of attention, and I know that.  I haven’t ignored it either, but I definitely have been giving Contracts much more of my time. I am going to need to start dividing it more evenly.

I have met so many great people.  I love the conversations we have, and how kind and helpful everyone has been that I meet.  I am so happy going to law school.  I am so lucky I have the opportunity, and I never lose sight of that.  I ope by my second year I will be able to incorporate exercise more regularly into my routine again…

