Tags

, , ,

Image

This is Yolanda Trail in Marin County.  It was a pretty tough walk/jog for me.

Hi!  So, this week has been a bit easier.  My trainer knocked me down to 6 miles for my long run this week.  Oh, how sweet that is! However, it was followed by, “enjoy it, because next week will be your longest run yet!”  YIKES!  The funny thing is distance isn’t my fear anymore.  It’s still the time factor that haunts me.  I have decided to let it go.

I decided today with a rather peaceful resolution actually, that I am going to go out and run this to MY ability.  If it’s not worthy of a finisher’s medal at the end of 3 hours, I don’t care anymore.  Completing the thing is more important to me.  To finish what I started.  And guess what?  I HAVE THE NIKE WOMENS HALF MARATHON IN OCTOBER TO GET MY TIFFANY NECKLACE!  I won’t sign up for another race where they have such strict time restraints.  I get why they do it.  And in a less hilly half marathon, 3 hours would absolutely feel doable to me.  But, those hills really slow my pace down.  But, I also believe that when I do finish if its not in the 3 hour time limit, it will be REAL CLOSE.  And 15 minutes shouldn’t bum me out about a medal.. I think anyone who completes it should get a medal, and if its not in the time limit then they don’t receive an official finishers certificate… therefore, it counts for someone who really needs the time to matter.  But, for me its an internal contest within myself.  SO, your damn medal isn’t going to change that for me.

The Nike Half Marathon has more relaxed time requirements.  You can have a 16 minute mile and finish with those SF hills. We can walk and finish it with that.  So, no pressure, except to have fun and do the distance. 

I do have to say on the plus side, I am glad I chose the SF Marathon as my first half for a few reasons: it’s no small accomplishment and feels good to say, “I did it”, it pushed me to up my training program, it forced me to take responsibility if I didn’t put the work in, it scared me straight per say…. ha ha.  It was enough of a challenge to push me harder in order to not fail.  I am determined to finish this even though at times I cursed and thought.. “why did I sign up for this shit?”  

I walked a trail in Marin called, Yolanda Trail it had a 800-900 ft elevation gain according to my Strava app I couldn’t run it, but I walked it.  I am reading Jeff Galloway’s training to a half marathon book and he says there isn’t much more of a benefit when you run hills vs walking them.  Which makes sense now to me.  I just assumed running them was better, but there is no way I could run that type of hill, yet. Walking that trail kicked my ass.  It was over 5 miles by the time we were finished.  The inspiring part of this story was when I got to the top there was a fitness instructor that teaches weightlifting for runners, and now some boot camps in the area and was running the trail.  He stopped and congratulated me on being out there!  YEAH, RIGHT?  He did!  I replied, I am walking it.  He then told me not to beat myself up about that and sometimes we forget about all the little steps it took us to get to where we are now (TRUE!) and the fact I was out here and on this hard trail was success!  He said, look around at the beauty you are experiencing and so many others aren’t out here doing what you are (TRUE).  We of course had to take a pic for my blog, of course!!

It’s funny how the Universe works!  You find motivation or inspiration all around you when you’re reaching for a goal.  I needed that pep talk! Ha Ha..  Maybe one day I will be running through those hills with ease….uh , probably not, but one never knows! Here are some other pics from the day. 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

