Tags

, , , , , , ,

I finished a 5.5 mile endurance run on Thursday, and ran from the Yacht club- up the Killer hill (noted in a photo that is behind me) across the Golden Gate Bridge and back down the killer hill to the starting point.  It was a pretty foggy day, but the bridge and the beauty around it always looks beautiful regardless.  We saw the USCG rushing to their boat to a smoking flare in the bay near the Golden Gate Bridge..my first thought is always, oh, no a jumper.  But, I can’t be sure why they were heading out.. they were only out there for about 15 minutes and back in they came.  After the run there were several Highway Patrol cars down at the boat speaking with the Coast Guard.. which leads me to believe a report was needed, hence, maybe not such a good outcome of whatever it was.

Image

I know I need to run that bridge more!  If you’ve never run the Golden Gate Bridge there is a slight uphill grade in both directions.  It’s hard to see, but man, my legs feel it.  At least with hills when you go up you get a little break in coming down.  With the bridge it never seems to let up-which is a good workout, for sure!  My thighs were burning the whole damn time.  I was whooped.  But, it was an awesome workout.  It wasn’t so hard I wanted to quit or might injure myself, yet, hard enough I was wiped out afterwards and fell asleep about 40 minutes after getting home.  I knew that was a training run.  I need to feel more comfortable running that or my legs will be spent the last 5 miles of this half marathon.  I plan on doing it a few more times before the big day.

Image

 

(This is the killer hill behind me)

My friend Nette, just breezes up the massive hill like a gazelle on the side of the hill.  I was walk/run, mostly walking up that hill.  I did it with a 12:17 average pace though which is great (to me) as the pacer group I chose is 12:40 pace in order to finish in 2:45.  I read everywhere that people’s legs are spent by the end of this.. please, Universe let my legs carry me the distance! ha ha.

I am going to run the preview race route run with the pacing group tomorrow.  I am going to brave it once again, and hope I can cut the mustard with the group.  I need to see the course first hand and feel these hills.  It will give me an idea of how much more I need to do, what I can expect and just plain good for the mental state I need going into this.

Wish me luck! Here are some nice pics of yesterday. xo

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

 

After the run.. thirsty!

Image

 

I took this on the way down the hill back to the car.  Isn’t she just the most beautiful sight?  I don’t know what makes this bridge so majestic compared to others, but she is. 

Image

 

How’s this view while eating your protein bar after a run? This is how running should be.. enjoying the scenery and appreciating the day. I love where I live, and am so glad that the SF half marathon is going to be my first 13.1 run.  It makes it even that more special.  They don’t write songs and have the slogan, “I left my heart in San Francisco” for nothing.  Her power is real. 

