Tags

, , , , ,

I am still dealing with serious feet pain.  I am trying everything.  In all honesty, I don’t think it was ever the shoes now.  Of course, it was my first thought, but its been months now and after trying so many different brands (I am actually embarrassed to go in and try anymore) I realized there is something else going on.

I went to my physician and explained to her what I have been experiencing.  She insists its because my feet are flat and I need more of an arch, and I am beating the bottom of my feet which is hurting my nerves.  OK.. this makes total sense!  I buy the Super Feet orthotic insoles and insert them into my shoes.  She did warn me that it will take a little time and to not give up.  So, I am not giving up that they’ll help.  I am on day 3 of using them with two of the days running.  She said to start slow.  I am willing to try anything.  But, at the same time I am dealing with a hypothyroid.  When I had gone to the doctor about two months ago to discuss all of this she also ordered me a blood test to check the levels of my thyroid.  They came back higher than previously, so she upped my medication.  I didn’t put two and two together, but noticed after a week or so up taking a higher amount of my medication my feet seemed so much better.  I had a few great runs, running 4 and 5 miles with relatively no pain at all.  It’s so weird how some weeks I can barely walk on my feet and other weeks I can run on them no problem.  One of the runs were actually on a pair of a newer Asics that I wrote off as not working for me.  They were fine for that day.. perfect.  I tried them again a week later and I was back to pain.  There seems to be no rhyme or reason.  

The next part of this story is I had my blood work done again last week as part of the routine in checking my thyroid and making sure they have my dosage correct, etc.  My blood work came back with my numbers higher than ever!  Even with my higher dose of medication.  In my opinion I am beginning to believe this is somehow related to my feet numbing issue.  I researched it myself and found plenty of evidence on reputable websites, and personal comments of others going through this exact problem.  The good news is I have read a few comments from others who said when their medication was at the correct dose and their thyroid under control the pain went away.  I am hopeful.  I am now on double the amount of medication and in a week or so, hoping to notice a difference.  I can run through a blister, or some soreness in a leg or knee.  I can mask it with ibuprofen, but this pain is not the same.  It’s not something I can run through.  It feels like needles poking the bottom of my feet and they’re on fire.  I also read that Vitamin B12 seems to help, so I am now taking that as well.  I have upped my leafy green vegetables which are thyroid producing foods, and with the combination of everything praying to the Goddess of my Half-Marathon that I can work through this.

In the meantime, I am still trying- if I have to run/walk to keep active until this works out then that is what I am doing.  It’s sad that I have seen now my mile time go from 12-13 minute miles consistently, to 15-17 minute miles just to make it through 3-4 miles.  

I hope this blog entry will be something I will look back on and see a resolution had been found in order to complete my Half Marathon, as I really want to be able to do this.  Fingers crossed I am on the right road to recovery.

