13.1intraining

 

I woke up the other night at 3:00 am and began counting how many miles I need to increase each month until July when I run my first half.  I am so nervous about this!  I am not so nervous about the distance, as I am about the hills and finishing within 3 hours.  I probably should have picked a half marathon that wasn’t so strict about the time requirements.  But, I felt at the time if I am going to put this much work into something I want it to be a pretty impressive half marathon.  In saying that I also had a little chat with myself… it’s up to me how much work I put into this.  IF I put the work into training for it, I should be okay.

I have spent the last month working on my consistency.  I have been putting the time aside after work to run before I pick up my little one from pre-school.  I have run at night, and then this weekend I actually ran in the rain!

I went to my gym to run on the treadmill this morning.  My goal was to do at least 5 miles.  I hated it.  I ran 2 miles and I couldn’t take it anymore.  I decided I would rather run in the rain and get wet then spend another minute on this thing.  So, I grabbed my jacket and started to run.  I loved it.  I was proud of myself that I am really making an effort to stay committed to my goal.  This proved it to myself even more.  It felt good running in the rain, listening to Van Halen off the “Women and Children First” album.  It was much more fun and comfortable than I thought it would be!

I felt as if I might be going a little slow, but decided I don’t care how long it takes me today.  To my surprise when my app hit its first mile outside I had run it a whole minute quicker than I have in the last few months.  The next mile, the same thing!  I was running 12 minute miles which I haven’t run in about 3 months.  I had been having feet and exhaustion issues for a few months.  I had blood work done and found my thyroid medicine needed increasing.  It seems to have done the trick.  All the problems I was having have disappeared!  I ended at 4.3 miles today.  I am sure could have pushed it the last bit, but it was such a good run- I had made great time with zero walking breaks and I decided I didn’t want to push it to the point of feeling wrecked for the rest of the day.  It was perfect, and I had a productive day afterwards.  IF I continue to keep doing what I am doing then next weekend I will push it a little further and by the end of this month I want to do at least 6 miles and for it to feel good without too much effort while I am doing it!

